IARW and WFLO Elect New Officers and Board Members

June 04, 2013

New officers and board members of the International Association of Refrigerated Warehouses (IARW) and the World Food Logistics Organization (WFLO) , an education and research foundation affiliated with IARW, were elected at the 122nd IARW-WFLO Convention & Expo, which was held in May 2013 in Hollywood, Florida, USA.

Doug Thomas, President & CEO, Bellingham Cold Storage Co. in Bellingham, Washington, USA, was elected as the 2013-2014 Chairman of the IARW Board of Directors .

Other new IARW officers elected for the coming year were Vice Chairman Terry Brown (President, Diversified Port Holdings LLC) and Treasurer Tom Poe (President, Crystal Distribution Services Inc.).

New directors-at-large members elected to serve three-year terms on the IARW Board include Luis Jorba (Frialsa Frigorificos) and Brian Kyle (Burris Logistics). Janice Scott (Commercial Cold Storage) was elected to represent the North Pacific Chapter and Barry Smith (Nova Cold Storage) was elected to represent the North Atlantic Chapter. Derk Van Mackelenbergh (Eurofrigo) was elected to represent the European Cold Storage and Logistics Association on the board.

Bill Hendricksen, CEO, Lineage Logistics, in Colton, California, USA, was elected as the 2013-2014 Chairman of WFLO Board of Governors .

Other new WFLO officers elected were Vice Chairman Frank Plant (Manager, San Diego Refrigerated Services, Inc.) and Greg Brandt (President & CEO, Nor-Am Cold Storage, Inc.).

New board members elected to serve three-year terms on the WFLO Board include Mike Bolander (Columbia Colstor), Paul Henningsen (Henningsen Cold Storage), Steve Tippmann (Interstate Warehousing), Lourens de Waal (Commercial Cold Storage Group).

Fabio Fonseca (Friozem Armazens Frigorificos) was re-elected to a three-year term on the WFLO Board.

In addition, Mike Jahncke, Ph.D, was appointed the new Chairman of the WFLO Scientific Advisory Council (SAC). As chairman of SAC, Jahncke also serves as a Public Member of the WFLO Board of Governors. Daryl Lund, Ph.D, who was Chairman of the SAC for 25 years, retired at the 123 rd IARW-WFLO Convention & Expo.

                                                                                # # #

IARW promotes excellence in the global temperature-controlled warehouse and logistics industry. WFLO delivers education and research to the industry and empowers economic development by strengthening the global cold chain. Members of these organizations can be identified by the use of IARW and WFLO logos in their company promotions. Both IARW and WFLO are Core Partners of the Global Cold Chain Alliance, which represents all major industries engaged in temperature-controlled logistics.